Spring in January

Where I come from, the winters are long (6 months) and cold. And tons of snow. It typically snows in October and you don’t see the grass again until May. Now where I live, it’s not quite like that. We get cold weather, but it’ll last for a few days or maybe a week at a time. It’ll snow, but typically the most of it will be gone in a week or two, obviously depending on the weather. But what that means is that here we get a Ton of springs! It’ll snow, and be cold for a week and then it’ll warm up and melt and be super muddy, wet and icy. And then it’ll freeze and snow again and do it all over again.
What I won’t go into detail about is how most of the puddles are actually cow pee/manure puddles. They’re rank. The dogs get rank because they like them, and if you are so lucky like I was last year, I slipped and fell in one, so then I was rank too.

IMG_3417
And then after a few days of spring weather, you Really get in the spring mode. I’ve ordered my chicks, ordered and received *all* (pfft. I’m always needing just one more pack!) my seeds, and now I want spring time. I’ve decided spring is my favourite time of year. Out here on the ranch, you’ve got baby calves jumping and hopping all around, baby chicks peeping, happy hens snatching the first of the bugs, and a whole wonderful garden to plant! Not to mention grass growing, bulbs popping through, and a bit later, the garden coming alive.
But all this lovely spring weather has me out for walks every day, sometimes twice a day!

IMG_3414
She is The happiest dog a live when she can run and run the open pastures and sniff out all the rabbits lurking in the sand rock. It has become a race between her and her brother dog, Dan, to see who can reach the hills with the rocks first and find the first rabbit. So entertaining to watch!

IMG_3407
We live in “Big Sky Country”. Can you tell?!
IMG_3410IMG_3409
We found some flowing water. The dogs, especially Sassie, (whiter one), LOVE water. She was trying to ‘catch’ the moving water. Dan was contemplating pulling his ‘danigator’ move, and lay down in the water as low as he can get, just keeping his nose above the water.

IMG_3406IMG_3413
Sassie and myself are fairly good friends, hence why there are more pictures of her in it than the other two dogs. 3 dogs actually come with me on our walks. Dan+Sassie (siblings) and Izzy, Jake and Jessica’s dog. She tends to keep her distance from where Dan+Sassie are, so she isn’t far from them, but generally not close enough to be in a picture!

However, despite all the warm weather, running water, and spring fever, in the back of my head I know that it’s Really not spring. Because there are 100+calves to be born and there’s always at least one Cold week during calving. So January, be all spring like, but until those calves are born, we still have cold weather, snow, loooong nights and busy days to get through!

IMG_3358
This past Saturday we moved all the cows. Big bulls went to the horse pasture, heifers got put in the lot while we went and got the yearling heifers to bring to the pasture right at the house. They’ll start calving in early February so we took advantage of the gorgeous day to bring them closer.

IMG_3359
They moved at a snails pace so it was quite easy to move them. Bob (father in law), was ahead with the feed truck so they just followed him and Jed, myself and Jed’s brother, Jake, were behind on the four-wheelers. I definitely don’t blame them for moving so slow; they’re nearly full term!

IMG_3364IMG_3376
I had the ‘honour’ of driving the brand new four wheeler because, quote my father in law, “you’re the only one I can trust not to wreck it”. ha!  I really didn’t go much faster than 2 miles an hour, due to the slow moving yearlings.
IMG_3367IMG_3377
We were moving so slowly that the boys had time for a snowball fight. They both admitted it was the hardest they’d ran in over 2 years ha!
IMG_3368
Please enjoy Jake’s running pose.
IMG_3391
And lastly. A ‘full’ basket of eggs. At least i’m calling that full right now. I have been getting 2 eggs a day for about 3 weeks now. And the other day we got 6! I did such a wonderful happy dance for Jed that he will want to buy me more and more hens so they lay lots of eggs so I do more wonderful happy-basket full of eggs dances for him.
I never ever thought I’d see the day where collecting eggs, 6 of them, made me so happy!
Bloom where you’re planted!

Leave a Reply

