Barbra’s Bread

When we first got married, I had such Bad luck with making bread. Every time I made it, I made a different mistake. However, I’m proud to say I’ve gotten quite good! Haven’t bought bread in a Long time, aside from english muffins..have yet to master those!  A friend gave me a recipe for a whole wheat, rye, and white flour bread. It’s become our favourite!

IMG_3549
I LOVE our south window+sill. It works great great for getting bread to rise!

IMG_3877

Barbra’s Bread:

2 cups boiling water
1 cup oats (I used this)
1/2c honey
2tsp salt
1/4 cup oil/butter

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rye flour
2 cups white flour
2 tbsp instant dry yeast

Mix the boiling water, oats, honey, salt, and oil/butter together.  In your kitchen aid, mix the flours and yeast.  Once the liquids have cooled enough, add to the dry ingredients. Mix and knead as normal, adjusting liquid or flour as needed. Knead 5 minutes. Let rise in a warm place until doubled. (45 minutes or so)  Grease pans (2 normal size, 3 smaller size). Beat down dough, and divide, letting rise until doubled.
Bake at 350 for 22 minutes.
Enjoy!


IMG_3878

Leave a Reply

