My life, as it seems right now

I think I open this blog every single night, look at the last post, think I should put up another post and then never do.
The reason being, is that our internet is fairly crappy, for the majority of the time. Therefore, when Jed is on his computer in the evening, and if i’m trying to upload pictures to here, he knows when I am because the internet practically dies. I rarely rarely rarely turn my computer on during the day and don’t update my blog from my phone! So that is why it’s not quite a month from the last post.

IMG_5848

Every day seems to get busier and busier. And I love it. Because I’ve realized that the more I do, the more energy I have to do more! Sitting around generally only happens in the evening with me!

Here is what a ‘typical’ day in the life of Me looks like! I use the word typical, Very lightly because I have learned that you Never know what is going to happen on the ranch! There’s always people and machines and trucks coming and going and calves being born (nearly done!) and needing tagged+weighed which can always lead to more. etc etc etc.
Anyways:
-I wake up lately around 7:10. I get my cast iron heating up, go let my chickens out and the dogs out, come back inside and make Jed breakfast. I sometimes eat with him, sometimes not.
-After eating+dishes cleaned up, we head outside to fork up the bulls hay. Jed then goes to work (working for his parents doing a bedroom reno for them, so he’s nice and close!)
-I go make sure my chickens, chicks, dogs all have water+food. It’s been fairly nice out so I’ve been able to spend time in my garden. Weeding as usual.
Mornings are my favourite because the wind hasn’t picked up, usually, the day is still calm and quiet and you can see everything start to wake up. The bulls start mooing when they hear the feed truck come, same with the cows+calves and the dogs start following the truck so they can get closer to cows without getting into trouble!
-once the garden is weeded, watered (if needed) I usually head inside and start sewing. I’ve been making more aprons so always have something to sew!
-I try and go and get the mail the 3x a week it comes. It’s a mile there and a mile back so the dogs and I Love the walk!
-After my mail getting I usually end up in the garden pulling more weeds, checking the chicks+chickens. The chicks go through So much food! I have 17 chicks left and they are little piggies it seems! Mind you, their food container is little and there Are 17 chicks! I usually end up wandering around outside, maybe cleaning the chicken area, or watering my seedlings or checking on my plants in my grow up. Usually outside or inside sewing.
-Jed eats lunch around noonishy so of course I make him and me a lunch.
IMG_5875
-after lunch I end up in the garden, or back outside. As i’m writing this, I realize how vague my day sounds! But between cleaning up after a meal, preparing for a meal, doing laundry, cleaning house, and outside stuff, my day is fairly full! Every 2 weeks I go and clean for Jed’s grandparents in the afternoon. And usually once a week I end up going to town. Getting the odd grocery, going to the post office, the thrift store, etc.
-Jed usually finishes up working around 5 or so. We go push up hay again, or sometimes weigh a new calf. I usually manage to drag Jed out to my garden every day or other day. To show him what’s new in there. He acts thrilled but I can tell it’s a forced thrilled. He’s happy I’m happy and I guess that’s it!
-I also usually try and take the dogs out for a walk everyday. Usually try. Since my brother in law saw a snake already, my walks have been strictly on the driveway! We (me+dogs) love walking through the pastures as there are wildflowers to spot, and for the dogs they love chasing rabbits and sniffing out every rock area. But these walks are only a seasonal thing..fall-spring. No summer walks as that’s when the snakes are out!
-I think that’s my day. But always something new, random and unexpected! This past Saturday, we went to fix a bloated bull. My father in law tubed it, like 5x or so, and no luck. (Putting a tube down it’s throat, to it’s stomach to release the gases)So he went to get a longer tube. Meanwhile, Jed and I were waiting and the pull starts to gag/puke/choke. No sound, just the action. I ran and told my father in law he better hurry. We came back, I got back like 10 steps ahead of him, i saw the bull move, my father in law goes to put the longer tube in him, and the bull had died!! He cut him open to see if he had wire or something in him, and everything looked normal, so it was a random/quick/unexpected death. Sad sad.
After that Jed and I went to the local community auction where I scored an antique scale and Jed got a few tools. I had never gone to an auction here so that was new+fun! This week we are off to Bozeman to a tile conference. I think i’ll be doing a lot of wandering around on my own, but that’s fine. I”m hoping to get to a fabric store and spend as long as I want there without a Mr. waiting for me!
-and this last picture: Donkey basketball. I had NO clue such a thing existed! It’s just what it sounds like. 4 players on a team, each on their own donkey. They have to stay connected to the donkey, while trying to play basketball! However, if they get the ball, they can hold it, and hope their donkey will run when they want it to, where they want it to, in a quick matter before the opposing team gets to them! Hilarious to watch!
IMG_5925
Basically, this sums up my life. The only thing I realized that I didn’t mention was the niece and nephew who I also spend time with. (And their mama of course). We weed the garden together, and go for walks, etc etc etc.
You just never know what will happen around here!

One thought on “My life, as it seems right now

  1. Hello! I came across your blog recently and have enjoyed reading your posts! I farm with my husband in Idaho and so it’s always nice to relate to someone who lives the country and farming life. It’s fun to see how other “farmwives” spend their days. Cute aprons too!

Leave a Reply

