The Ruffled Chick

For those who read this blog, you may be aware that I make aprons! I decided to make a Facebook page and an instagram account for my apron business. This way my personal feeds won’t be getting clogged up with ruffles!

IMG_5618

It all started by stepping into a fabric store and seeing the hundreds of adorable fabrics available.  I chose some fabric and decided to make my sister an apron! That apron got lots of positive feedback and I made a few more from there to sell.  It was a great winter project for me to keep me busy. I wasn’t going to do any aprons in the spring/summer, but here I am; 6 aprons on the go! I am taking orders to make more aprons, and I may just regret this! However, our summers get Super hot so it’ll force me to stay inside for longer periods of time! (However, I’m hoping to have these aprons all done soonish.)

IMG_5853
all ironed, hemmed and sewn!

I wanted to write a breakdown of each apron, the work required and the cost.
I used to wash all the new fabric in like colours, then snip alllll the threads, and then iron. However, where I buy my fabric, they informed me it’s a good enough quality fabric that it doesn’t need a prewashing. So that saved me a LOT of time. Plus I hate ironing so I was obviously pleased to hear that.

Each apron has 4 ruffles, usually of 4 different patterns; 2 more ‘loud’ fabrics and 2 more ‘quieter’ fabrics. This fabric is a cotton. The apron base/form/body is usually a canvas/duck material or twill (I believe that’s what it is!).
The aprons have the 2 ties, a neck piece, a waist band and fancy stitching along the top.
Here is a breakdown of what I usually do, the order varies a bit:
1) cut each fabric that will be for the ruffles (4 ruffles an apron x maybe 5 aprons I make at once=20 pieces to cut, iron, sew, and ruffle)
2) each ruffle piece is ironed. I iron about 1/4″ on all 4 sides, and then iron it over again to give it all a finished edge.
3) then each ironed hem piece is sewn
4) ruffle each ruffle material!
5) cut out the apron form
6) hem it, same as above; 1/4″ ironed, and then folded over again to give a finished edge
7) sew the hem
Once all the ironing and base sewing is done, I feel like i’m over the worst part!
8) pin+sew each ruffle to apron base
9) make the ties: 2 ties per apron, each piece is cut out, ironed in half, inside out, sewn along the open edge, and then folded the right way, and then ironed flat!
10) make the neck pieces/straps. Same concept as above
11) make the waist bands (same concept too)
12) attach the waist band, side ties and neck straps

At this point, I consider the aprons nearly done. They’re wearable. The only thing left is to do the fancy stitching along the top. I don’t have a fancy machine that does this, but a dear friend of ours does and has me come use her machine to do the fancy stitching. Her machine does flowers, arrows, and other kinds of stitching. SO cool. One day I may have a machine like that!
IMG_5340IMG_4009

So this is how I make an apron! Lots of time+work put into them. I do them all at once. So this last batch of aprons, I was ironing+hemming+ruffling 28 ruffles at a time!

We live about 3 hours from the nearest big fabric store. We don’t go to these cities a Lot. Every few months or so. Therefore, I’ll only be making apron whenever I can stock up on fabric.

I ask $45 an apron. This includes shipping (both Canada+USA). If you are local or are buying more than one apron, I can work out a special price for you!

I’m sure I forgot some information, but if there are any more questions please let me know! Email: jn13smith@gmail.com.
If you are on facebook or instagram, Please follow “The Ruffled Chick” to see my work in progress, finished aprons, new fabric, sales, and more!

Leave a Reply

