No Knead Artisan Bread 

When we first got married, I decided to start making bread. I had many sad fails in the bread making department. Each time I would make a different mistake. I finally then figured out how to make good bread.

I would start the bread in the morning and let it rise up on our south facing windowsill and get the morning sun to give it the heat it needed. It worked perfect! But then I discovered a no knead artisan bread recipe. The first time I made it, Jed informed me that it was the best homemade bread he had ever tasted and that he would like a fresh loaf every week and that I was not to try any other recipe because this one was That good! This was probably nearly a year ago and I don’t think I’ve mad “regular” bread since! I do miss the whole bread making process though…

Anyways. Here’s the recipe:

3 cups flour

3/4tsp yeast

1-2 tsp salt

1.5 cups water

Mix all dry ingredients together. Add the water slowly to form a rough ball of dough. Maybe not even a ball. Mix gently until all incorporated but be sure not to over mix.

Cover bowl+dough with Saran Wrap for 8-24 hours. The dough will bubble up and be wet looking. This is good.  When ready to cook, put the bottom of a Dutch oven in the oven and preheat oven to 450. You want to get the Dutch oven nice and hot. While oven is preheating, flour a surface and your hands and gently form the dough into a rough ball. Be careful not to knead it as you will be deflecting? Flattening? The air holes which you want! You probably won’t get the dough into much of a shape other than a flop of dough! When oven is preheated, put dough in hot Dutch oven, put the lid on and cook for 30 minutes. After the time is up, take the lid off and cook for another 8-10 minutes until dough is golden, the house smells delicious and the butter is ready to slather the bread with!


Notes:

-I use a cast iron Dutch oven. You’ll want something able to with stand the 450 degree oven and that the lid completely seals; is heavy enough.

-the dough may look different every time yet I’ve never had this recipe fail me. Sometimes I’ll think the dough is too wet or too dry or too wet to even form into a shape but even then, as long as you can get it in the Dutch oven after it’s been sitting for a while, (I usually make the dough in the evening and cook it the next morning) it’ll be fine! It may not rise up as nicely or will spread out too much but it’ll taste fine and that’s all that matters!

One thought on “No Knead Artisan Bread 

Leave a Reply

