Freshly Made-Thai Chicken Soup

I love soup. And thankfully my husband does too. As long as there’s meat in it. And a snack available shortly after!
It is Finally soup season and I’ve been a soup making machine! I like to make soup Sunday or Monday so I can eat it all week long!
My most recent favourite one is a Thai Chicken Soup:

2tbsp vegetable oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp minced fresh ginger I used powder
1lb potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2″ chunks
1c chicken broth
1lb chicken breast cut into bite size pieces
2 cups unflavoured soy milk I used regular milk
1/3c chopped fresh basil I used dried, not 1/3c tho!)
1/4c chopped fresh cilantro I didn’t put any in, sadly
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
2 tbsp soya sauce
1 tbsp peanut butter
2tbsp dark brown sugar
1/4tsp coconut extract

-Heat oil, add garlic, ginger, and I added some onion.  When soft, add potatoes and broth. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until potatoes are tender.

-Add chicken, milk, basil, lime juice, soya sauce, peanut butter, brown sugar and coconut extract. Bring to boil, and then reduce heat and simmer until chicken+potatoes are fully cooked. (I cooked the chicken before adding). I also added some grated carrots and chopped spinach into it as well.
This may be my new favourite soup to date!

IMG_3612

Leave a Reply

